Cancelled

Our 3rd IVF cycle is officially cancelled and we have converted it to a IUI. We have done 5 IUIs before and only one resulted a BFP (Angel Baby 1), so I am not overly optimistic but it’s better than doing the injections for nothing. 

We had an ultrasound this morning which confirmed the earlier results, the follicles did not develop evenly and so we have 3 (ish) that are ready to go and the remainder will not develop in time. 

By some miracle the doctor doing our ultrasound this morning was our RE and so we were able to ask him all ourquestions. He was surprised by the results given the antagonist protocol and he did not believe that it had anything to do with the increase in Gonal-F but rather a result of cycle irregularity. “It happens” he said. While I am not sure he would admit if it was the increased Gonal-F, from what I have read I don’t think that’s the case anymore. Rather I think it’s our shitty luck once again or perhaps a scary sign for me that my ovarian reserve is dimishing. 

I did ask him if it was a bad sign – is this an indicator of my ovaries and eggs reducing in quantity and quality dramatically over the year (I may have actually said “is this a sign everything is going to shit”) – and he said while he doesn’t think so, he doesn’t want to speculate just yet. 

As he put it, “I want this IUI to work and I am going to believe it will”.

Damn, good advice Doc. 

2 thoughts on “Cancelled

Leave a Reply

