Not Pregnant, Just Fat

There are still a lot of people in the world who ask women if they are pregnant despite all of the social taboos about doing so. It never ceases to amaze me, every single time. 

The oh-so-ironic thing about fertility treatments is that they make you gain weight. I don’t just mean the stress eating (I am one of those people) or the wine (after that BFN, yet again), I mean the hormones. 

IVF will make you gain 5-7 pounds. The estrogen and progesterone will make sure that you bloat like you are pregnant even though you might not be.  It’s a nasty cruel trick.  No baby and fat. Awesome. 

Let’s not forget the gas and water retention either. 

And all of that makes everything bigger and people start to give you that sly look like “oh I think I know…” And I will look them straight in the eye and respond:

“Not pregnant, just fat”. 

